Holidays Anew

Holidays AnewHolidays Anew

My holidays have been different this year and it’s not a bad thing. My holidays have been different because I haven’t had my ex in my life. He wasn’t much for holidays, in fact, he expressed quite a hatred for most holidays, calling some Satanic and some Pagan, some silly, and some stupid. This year, I haven’t had to worry about any of that because he’s not around.

The first six months of this year I celebrated my holidays with my family as I was single at the time, but for the past six months I’ve had someone to celebrate holidays with. We’ve actually been together over six months now. We had a nice night out, besides the traffic. We had a nice fish dinner and browsed Barnes and Noble for over and hour, then we came home to watch The Grand Tour. It may not be your idea of a nice night, but we enjoyed it.

My holidays have been more satisfying with someone to celebrate them with who actually likes holidays for the most part. We didn’t do any big deal for the Fourth of July, but other holidays have been nice.

For my birthday, which isn’t technically a holiday, I actually had a somewhat nice time, besides dealing with stuff at my former job. My boyfriend did not throw a fit or ruin my birthday, like the case has been every year for the previous eight years. It was nice. There wasn’t even a huge present involved and there was a gas shortage, but my birthday was still nice.

Halloween was right after a move, but my boyfriend isn’t opposed to Halloween and would have dressed up had we not been worn out from moving.

Thanksgiving was a good one though. I didn’t have to listen to my boyfriend bitch about my family, as I would have had my ex been involved. There weren’t comments on my family being “incomplete” or their house being dirty, or small, or gross. My family was accepted for who they were. In fact, my family really likes my boyfriend. They actually came up to me at various times and commented on how my boyfriend is so much more sociable and nicer than my ex. It’s nice to know that my family likes my boyfriend.

My boyfriend even volunteered to help drive down to Georgia, volunteered, really, he did, instead of bitching about driving to a different state. He didn’t complain when I went shopping with my mom after Thanksgiving. He had fun watching movies.

Christmas is going to be different as well. Even though my boyfriend isn’t all in for Christmas, the music mainly, he’s not opposed to the whole idea. In fact, he was up for doing stockings.

Stockings was something I tried to get my ex to do, but he never wanted to do it. Whereas, my boyfriend and I went to JoAnn’s and picked out fabric to make stockings out of. We got a great deal. We came home and I made us both stockings. He even helped a little.

His stocking is black pleather with the car/motorcycle fabric, and mine is the blue one with the cream cuff. We’re each going to fill up each other’s stockings with various things.

It is so nice to be able to celebrate with someone who doesn’t oppose holidays or complain about them all the time. It’s an entirely different experience. It makes things more enjoyable.

It’s both good to know, and a little sad to know, that getting a new person in your life, or getting another person out of your life can change so much.

Leave a Reply

