I Watched a Train

trainI Watched a Train

The Other day I was driving to another side of town and as I was nearing a rail-road crossing, the bells came on and the bars lowered across the road. I watched as a train, with one other engine and twenty-two cars of various types passed by on the road. I mused over how annoying it must be to honk the train whistle at every rail-road crossing. The train was a short one and soon I was able to go on my way.

Nothing is remarkable about this train; it wasn’t even that long. What was remarkable to me is that this was the first train I’ve watched just pass by in years and years.

The area I live in, has a lot of trains. You would have thought that I would have seen a lot of them passing by. I occasionally hear them, even from my house which isn’t really close to tracks, but I haven’t seen them. Why? Well, part of the reason is that I’m just never in the right place at the right time. It’s not like trains are crossing my path all the time. I that were the case, it would be a bit odd.

Part of the reason is that someone, not me, didn’t like to wait for trains and someone always found a way around, on different roads, instead of just waiting for the train to pass.

Here’s the thing–I like trains. I always have. I used to watch Shining Time Station when I was a kid. I had train sets, that I played with, and, yes, I’m totally a girl. I used to love watching the trains pass when I was a kid. I like watching trains pass and counting all the cars. I’ve been on trains, several times. I thought train conductors were neat. The first house I lived in when I moved to Georgia was an old train depot and there used to be train tracks running by the house. They took them up; I remember. Let’s just say I like trains and leave it at that.

Maybe I’m childish for wanting to watch a train pass by and count all the cars, but, you know what, if I can’t have some childish enjoyment out of a day-to-day occurrence like this, then shoot me. If a train happens to cross my path, and I’m not stalled in the middle of the tracks, gosh darnit, I want to enjoy it. Let me be. Let me watch the train and count the cars.

Leave a Reply

