Patching up a Bad Week

Patching up a Bad WeekPatching up a Bad Week

On Monday morning, on my way to work, I was hit by a person who ran a stop sign, just down the road from my house. The car, a new car, no longer has a front-end, the air bags deployed, and the car is so messed up I couldn’t even put it in park. If someone tells me it’s fixable, I’m going to ask them what crack they’re smoking.

I’ve been back and forth with Elco, the company who handles Enterprise’s rental car insurance. Let me just go ahead and tell you now–if you can at all avoid a wreck with someone driving an Enterprise rental car, do so. It turns out they’re not so easy to deal with.

As it seems now, my car looks totaled. I had no way to get around until this past Saturday evening when my mother brought up my old car for me to drive until Enterprise decides to give me a rental car.

Patching up a Bad WeekOn Friday, someone was viewing my house and somehow, someway, don’t know how, a pipe underneath my house was broken. I had water that morning and I don’t know when this happened or if it happened while people were looking at it. Why they were looking under the house I don’t know. Maybe they check every house they look at to see if there are any visible dead bodies underneath each and every house they view?

So the realtor calls me and says there is a broken pipe. I have absolutely no way to get home from work. I already got someone else to take me to work, for which I am very grateful. So I told the realtor this. He decided to call my husband, whom I am separated from. To no one’s surprise, but the realtor, I got two nasty voicemail messages from my separated husband. I mean, they were mean.

The whole gist of the thing was about how I knew where the water cut offs were to the house and he shouldn’t be dealing with this because he has already told me that I am supposed to take care of everything dealing with the main house as per our court order, which isn’t true. We’re supposed to split costs for any repairs that the realtor deems necessary to sell the house, if reasonable, but whatever, I’m not my husband and I don’t make up his mind.

As I have been having anxiety issues, all due to my separated husband, I had a mild anxiety attack because of these voice mails. I end up shaking and almost bursting into tears when I call the realtor back asking him not to call my husband about anything dealing with the house as far as repairs go. I ended up losing my appetite and ate nothing all day long until dinner time.

I called around and sought the help of anyone I could think of to get this repaired. A very nice man and his wife, who go to church with me, came over, in the dark, and the cold, to fix this for me. I am so grateful to them for taking their time to come over and help me. It’s people like them that prove that there are still good people in the world.

So I had water, hooray!

Bad things are over right? Wrong…

So Saturday morning, I get up and I’m doing housework. I put my comforter in the washer to wash it, because it’s kind of dingy. I had spot cleaned off smaller things. Turns out the washer tried to eat my comforter, and it’s a nice comforter. I’ve put it in the washer before and it’s been fine.

There was a giant hole ripped in the side of my comforter. Seriously, after all the other crap that happened during the week, I had to deal with this too.

Before I could patch this though, there were other things that happened, but these were relatively good things. My mom drove up my old car for me to drive until I got a rental car. It’s a 2007 Hyundai Accent, the first car I bought and it’s trashed now, I didn’t do it. There are stains everywhere, the inside lights don’t work and the driver’s side visor is broken, but it goes!

Patching up a Bad WeekMy cousin came down from North Carolina to get my Ginger cat. As I will have to move in the near future, most likely to an apartment, my cousin is taking charge of my Ginger cat as she likes to go outside. I’m hoping her transition won’t be too bad. She is a good cat.

Later, after everyone was gone, I decided to patch my comforter, which you can see, in my pictures. I used two quarter pieces of fabric from Wal-mart, an off-white piece and a light blue piece, to patch my comforter. The design is oil based permanent marker, which I drew straight onto the fabric. I copied the quilted pattern as best I could. The patched piece stayed, even after going through the dryer again, so I guess I did a pretty good job.

My night wore on and I started to feel awful. It turns out I kept feeling awful and I felt awful into the night. I couldn’t go to sleep for the longest time and I felt awful Sunday morning when I woke up.

Sunday morning also held something else…a rabbit.

I looked out the window and I saw a rabbit. It was a big rabbit, too big to be a wild rabbit for the area. I thought maybe it kind of hung out around the area after someone had let it out and figured it had been what my cat had been chasing outside. I took a couple of pictures of it.

Later when I looked, the rabbit was gone. That afternoon, after feeling poorly all day, I looked back outside and saw the rabbit again. I had already contemplated catching it with my Have-a-Heart trap, but I decided to go outside and see if I could catch it with my hands, which I could, and did. So now there’s a rabbit inside of my house. It’s a male rabbit who doesn’t seem all too bothered by being around people or cats.

Seriously, I went outside in my pajamas, while sick, and caught a rabbit with my bare hands…how productive were you on Sunday?

I really hope this week is calmer. In the end, I’m still alive and going despite someone running a stop sign and almost killing me and dealing with an angry and bitter man. It will take more than that to kill me. Hopefully the saying is true,–“Whatever doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.”

Leave a Reply

