Living Out of the Pantry-Pumpkin Puffs

Living Out of the Pantry-Pumpkin PuffsLiving Out of the Pantry-Pumpkin Puffs

Recent events have left me both broke and car-less. If you haven’t read about the loss of my car, read about it here.

Basically, I’m stuck at home. I’m catching rides to necessary appointments. I’m bumming rides to work. I’m contemplating lawyers. To top it all off, I can’t even drive to the store. On a day I have more time, I can certainly walk to the nearest grocery store; it’s not too awfully far away, but I can’t walk there in the evening because I would have a difficult time getting back home in the dark.

As it happened, I was out of sweets. What could I eat that was sweet? I’ve had headaches from the car accident and wanted something with a little sweetness to sweeten the whole situation.

I looked around in my pantry for something to make. As it turns out I had gluten-free pancake mix from Bob’s Red Mill. I also had canned pumpkin. If you don’t know, pumpkin cookies are awfully good.

This is a thrown together recipe, so modification will be necessary to fit your individual preferences.

Ingredients:

Dough:

  • 1&1/2 C Gluten-free pancake mix(or regular it doesn’t really matter)
  • 1/2-1 C Canned pumpkin
  • 1/4 C + Brown Sugar
  • An Egg
  • 1 tsp + Pumpkin Pie Spice
  • 2 Tbsp Butter

Sugar Glaze:

  • 1 C + Powdered sugar
  • 1 tbsp(plus or minus) milk
  • Vanilla extract(to taste)

Set your oven to 350 degrees.

Put all your dough ingredients in one bowl and stir it together. The dough as written, will not be too terribly sweet, but if you would like it sweeter, use more sugar. If you would like it less pumpkin-y, use less pumpkin. The pancake batter is a dough in and of itself so you don’t necessarily have to worry about leavenings and other additives you’d generally have to add various doughs.

Plop the dough on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Sprinkle with regular granulated sugar on top, if desired, for a bit of crunch on the top of the puff. Bake for 15 minutes. The dough will spread and poof up, a bit, thus why I called them “puffs.”

If you want them fast, stick them in the freezer for a few minutes to cool.

Put your powdered sugar and vanilla extract in a bowl. Add just a bit of milk and whisk. Continue adding milk and whisking until it’s the desired consistency. Drizzle over your puffs.

Eat and enjoy.

Use up all those cans of pumpkin you have in your pantry.

mmmm…….

Leave a Reply

